Grade 3, Science Olympiad (CBSE) - Classification of animals on habitat 

Try free sample papers for Olympiads

Grade 3  |   Science  |   Classification of animals on habitat, Animals and Birds, Olympiad, CBSE, ICSE, Maths Olympiad, Science Olympiad, English Olympiad

Classification of animals :

1. Terrestrial Animals:

Animals which live on land are called terrestrial animals. They generally have four legs. Terrestrial animals have well-developed sense organs. E.g. Tiger, Lion, Elephant, Dogs, Cat etc.

2. Aquatic Animals:

Animals which live in water are called aquatic animals. Many aquatic animals like fishes have special respiratory organs called gills. Gills consists of membranes and are connected with blood vessels. Gills extract dissolved oxygen from water and excrete carbon dioxide.

3. Aerial Animals:

Animals which spend most of their time in the air are called aerial animals. Birds come under this category.

4. Arboreal Animals: 

Arboreal animals live on trees. E.g. monkeys, lizards, squirrel, chameleon etc.

5. Amphibians:

Amphibians can live in water as well as land. Amphibians are cold-blooded. Amphibians don't have scaly skin. Their skin is slimy and permeable that means air and water can pass through it.Some amphibians have gills at the beginning of their life. Some examples of amphibians are frogs, toads, salamanders and caecilians.

 Recommended watch

 Useful free youtube videos 

Classification of animals on habitat
Note : This video is the property of MakeMeGenius. We really appreaciate the hard work and brain put in by the team of MakeMeGenius to bring out this video. We suggest you to visit their channel on youtube for more science videos. They have a huge collection of informative science videos.

Get me the extra edge for Olympiads Exams

* Olympiad Genius is an independent organization and is not an official partner of SOF (Science Olympiad Foundation), Silverzone, Unified Council and Indian Talent Olympiad Organizations.